Missing Kayaking Just Like Everyone Else

Me announcing expert prelims

Me announcing expert prelims

A quick hug for my Mother who has always been my number 1 fan

A quick hug for my Mother who has always been my number 1 fan

Today I realized something as I walked into the living room of my apartment and saw my kayak and paddle sitting all alone in the corner. I officially miss kayaking and it is a sad thing. I have not gone kayaking since November when I filmed my instructional video for class. I have resorted to watching kayak footage from the Whitewater Grand Prix in Chile. By the way Dane Jackson, son of Eric Jackson the founder of Jackson Kayak has secured a second consecutive Grand Prix Championship. I just want to say congratulations and a job well done! Dane has proved again, why he is such a force in the professional kayaking world. I have to say that it is an impressive feat to win back-to-back titles against the best kayakers in the world.

Even though I miss kayaking terribly I know that a month from now I will be going to pool sessions at the YMCA in Appleton, WI through the Bay Lakes Council, which is affiliated with the Boy Scouts of America and that is my opportunity to not only get back in my kayak, but also to give back to the youth and adults in the program that I learned in. If it wasn’t for the Boy Scouts I probably never would have discovered this great sport,which has become my passion in life. I enjoy everything kayaking has to offer and it is a sport that has already given me great travel opportunities, but more importantly it has allowed me to meet a wide variety of people along the way.

One of my favorite things to do is announce sporting events and I am currently the Sports Director at my campus radio station in Stevens Point, WI. That has given me opportunities to broadcast different sporting events and even have my very own radio show devoted to main stream sports. I have gained a lot of experience from those activities and because of that two years ago Ashley Knutson was looking for someone to announce the Midwest Freestyle Intermediate class at the Wausau Whitewater Park. I immediately raised my hand and said I would do it and I loved every minute of it. Since that day I have announced for Riverfest and the Midwest Freestyle Championships in 2012. Through kayaking I have been able to combine two of my passions, announcing and kayaking. Kayaking is one of the greatest things that has happened to me and I am thankful to everyone who has supported me since I began. I also want to thank my family for encouraging me to pursue this great sport and for not scolding me every time I buy a new boat or piece of gear.

I want to wish everyone a Merry Christmas and I hope everyone has a safe New Year on and off the water!

See you on the River!

Chris O’Brien

One response to “Missing Kayaking Just Like Everyone Else

Leave a comment